July Country Meeting 2016

Wylam on Tyne

The July Country meeting was held in Wylam on Tyne on Saturday 9 July. Over the preceding Wednesday to Saturday AM 11 peals were scored in the surrounding areas.

The meeting was preceded by a striking competition where a number of ad hoc bands competed to win a round of drinks provided by the Master at the evening do. A course of Newcastle Surprise Minor on the heavy 6 at St Oswin’s separated the sheep from the goats and a team which included the hosts of last year’s July meeting (at Wimborne Minster) was victorious.

During the meeting, we paid tribute to M Amy Coburn who was elected in 1947 and who died in February, as well as noting the very recent death of Diana Handley who will be remembered at the next meeting. Congratulations to new member Andrew Thackeray of Chesterfield. Appreciation was passed onto Linda Garton (along with Jo Dorling, Judith Mack and others who helped with catering) for her efforts at organising the Ringing World National Youth Contest. Ian Oram reported on the Central Council meeting; members voted in favour of a potential BRF grant to the Ypres project, led by Alan Regin, and the Treasure gave notice of a potential rule changes to be proposed at the AGM; Ian Campbell was also congratulated for ringing his 5000th peal.

The dinner and ceilidh that followed the meeting were attended by around 75 members in the lovely setting of the Wylam Institute Hall with views of church from out of the lofty windows, and plenty of delicious food and liquid sustenance. Many thanks to Andrew and Angela Cairns and their family and helpers, in the organisation of such an enjoyable event.

View photos from this event in our gallery.

Peals rung on Bellboard

SRCY member please login to leave a comment:

11 peals so far have been rung for the Society July Country meeting.

North Shields, Tyne and Wear
Christ Church
Saturday, 9 July 2016 in 2hrs 59mins (16-1-18)
5040 London No 3 Surprise Royal
Composed by C K Lewis

  1. Andrew J Davey
  2. Rosemary J Duke
  3. Ruth Curtis
  4. Felicity S Warwick
  5. Graham A Duke
  6. Clive R Moon
  7. Christopher H Enzor
  8. David A Warwick (C)
  9. Julia R Cater
  10. Paul F Curtis

Roker, Tyne and Wear
St Andrew
Saturday, 9 July 2016 in 3hrs 13mins (22-2-26)
5040 Yffenni Surprise Royal
Composed by D F Morrison & M B Davies

  1. Joanna K Dorling
  2. Thomas B Mack
  3. Geraldine R Forster
  4. Claire F Roulstone
  5. Ian Roulstone
  6. Simon Humphrey
  7. Benjamin D Constant (C)
  8. Anthony P Cotton
  9. Matthew D Hetherington
  10. Alan Regin

On the occasion of the Society's country meeting in Wylam.

Hartlepool, Durham
St Oswald
Friday, 8 July 2016 in 3hrs 4mins (21-2-12)
5040 London No 5 Surprise Royal
Composed by DG Hull

  1. Ruth Curtis
  2. Jennifer A Town
  3. Thomas B Mack
  4. Colin M Lee
  5. Andrew J Cairns
  6. Paul F Curtis
  7. Benjamin D Constant
  8. Alan Regin
  9. Ian Roulstone (C)
  10. Claire F Roulstone

Newburn on Tyne, Northumberland
St Michael and All Angels
Friday, 8 July 2016 in 2hrs 39mins (9-2-2)
5024 Lessness Surprise Major
Composed by Alan G Reading (No5)

  1. John P Loveless
  2. Michael Angrave
  3. Ruth Curtis
  4. Claire F Roulstone
  5. Anthony P Cotton
  6. Julia R Cater
  7. Ian Roulstone
  8. Paul F Curtis (C)

Birthday compliment to Mary Holden

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Friday, 8 July 2016 in 3hrs 3mins (12-2-7)
5040 Lincolnshire Surprise Royal
Composed by James Clatworthy

  1. Karen P Maughan
  2. Rosemary J Duke
  3. Penelope J V Sharpe
  4. Barry D Mack
  5. Felicity S Warwick
  6. Anthony P Cotton
  7. Graham A Duke (C)
  8. James M Hills
  9. Simon Humphrey
  10. David A Warwick

The ringers of the 2nd and 7th had their first handling lessons 50 years ago this month, in Banstead, Surrey and Wollaton, Nottingham respectively, the latter taught by the ringer of the 9th.

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
St Paul
Friday, 8 July 2016 in 3hrs 11mins (17-0-23)
5056 Yorkshire Surprise Major
Composed by Robert W Lee (no 4)

  1. Janet E Menhinick
  2. Andrew J Davey
  3. Michael H D O'Callaghan
  4. Malcolm M Powell
  5. Ian G Mills
  6. Peter J Waterfield
  7. Russell A Brown
  8. John P Loveless (C)

Rung in memory of Diana J Handley of Kendal, a member of this Society, who died on 5 July 2016.
Also, 75th birthday compliments to Gerald Lang.

Brancepeth, Durham
St Brandon
Thursday, 7 July 2016 in 2hrs 58mins (14-1-13)
5024 London Surprise Major
Composed by SJ Ivin (No. 44)

  1. Geraldine R Forster
  2. Felicity S Warwick
  3. John J Ford
  4. Graham A Duke
  5. Russell A Brown
  6. David A Warwick
  7. Claire F Roulstone
  8. Ian Roulstone (C)

Birthday compliment to Rosemary Duke. 100th together, 4 and 6.

Darlington, Durham
St John
Thursday, 7 July 2016 in 2hrs 58mins (10-0-10)
5056 Bristol Surprise Major
Composed by Anthony J Cox

  1. Malcolm M Powell
  2. Karen P Maughan
  3. Andrew J Davey
  4. John P Loveless (C)
  5. Joanna K Dorling
  6. Alan Regin
  7. Andrew J Cairns
  8. Ian G Mills

Lanchester, Durham
All Saints
Thursday, 7 July 2016 in 2hrs 52mins (9-1-6)
5056 Spliced Surprise Major (8m)
Composed by Graham A C John
736 each: Bristol, Rutland. 704: Pudsey. 608 each: Cambridge, Lincolnshire, Superlative. 544: Yorkshire. 512: London. 130 changes of method. All the work.

  1. Ruth Curtis
  2. Andrew J Cairns
  3. Paul F Curtis
  4. John P Loveless
  5. Mary E Holden
  6. Ian G Mills
  7. Alan Regin
  8. Peter J Waterfield (C)

Remembering Stephen L Nicholson, formerly a ringer at this tower and member of this Society.

Shildon, Durham
St John
Thursday, 7 July 2016 in 2hrs 54mins (16-1-8)
5088 Bristol Surprise Major
Composed by Alan G Reading

  1. Ruth Curtis
  2. Ian Roulstone
  3. Anthony P Cotton
  4. Christopher H Enzor
  5. Peter J Waterfield
  6. Julia R Cater
  7. Paul F Curtis (C)
  8. Claire F Roulstone

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Cathedral Church of St Nicholas
Wednesday, 6 July 2016 in 3hrs 43mins (37-2-17)
5042 Cambridge Surprise Maximus
Composed by Ian Butters no 644

  1. Joanna K Dorling
  2. Jennifer A Town
  3. Ian G Mills
  4. Ian Butters (C)
  5. Ruth Curtis
  6. Stephen R Aldridge
  7. Anthony P Cotton
  8. Peter J Waterfield
  9. Claire F Roulstone
  10. Paul F Curtis
  11. Alan Regin
  12. John P Loveless

Rung to mark the centenary of the commencement of the Battle of the Somme.