2015 London Twelve Bell Competition

SRCY are placed 2nd in this years competition

St Giles, Cripplegate
St Giles, Cripplegate

Now a well established fixture on the calendar, this year's competition was held on the challenging bells at St Giles Cripplegate. Designed to be a fun and friendly competition, the pressure to put in a good performance nevertheless seems to increase each year!

The Cumberland team featured a few changes from the National 12 Bell line-up, with one or two representing the society for the first time in a long while! After a promising practice at Cripplegate, we were confident that we could take the fight to the opposition on what is definitely an 'away fixture'. The test piece: 251 of Erin Cinques.

On the day itself, we were given the unenviable draw of 9th. Despite the significant wait, everyone appeared to refrain from having too many alcoholic beverages! The judges (Andrew Mills assisted by his wife, Sharon), described our ringing as full of character and flare but that we perhaps rang a little fast for the band and were missing that final degree of accuracy. This translated into a very pleasing 2nd place with 89%, only 3% behind the winning ASCY band; definitely less than home advantage on very tricky bells!

Our thanks go to Gwen Rogers and her team for arranging such a successful event. Next year's contest is to be held at St. Sepulchre, Holborn, where we drew 1st with Birmingham last year in the 12 Bell eliminators. Game on.


Result details

Position Rang Team Mark Speed
1 8th Ancient Society of College Youths 92% 3h31
2 9th Society of Royal Cumberland Youths 89% 3h25
3 6th St Michael's Cornhill 87% 3h31
4 10th St Paul's Cathedral 80% 3h24
5 5th Middlesex County Association & London Diocesan Guild 78% 3h21
6 3rd Southwark Cathedral (S) 64% 3h25
7 4th Croydon 63% 3h24
8 1st University of London Society of Change Ringers 60% 3h30
9 7th St Martin-in-the-Fields 58% 3h24
10 2nd Southwark Cathedral (J) 56% 3h19


Front row, right to left 1-6, back row, left to right 7-12
  1. Joanna K Dorling
  2. Shirley E McGill
  3. Edward R Mack
  4. Geraldine R Forster
  5. Mary E Holden
  6. Benjamin D Constant (C)
  7. Russell A Brown
  8. Ian G Mills
  9. Stephen J Bailey
  10. Nicholas D Brown
  11. Alan Regin
  12. Thomas B Mack

SRCY member please login to leave a comment: